Welcome, Guest.        Forum rules.
      Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

PTR DNS resolution

(Read 11367 times)
Ex Member
Ex Member

Dec 23rd, 2006 at 8:12am  
I've been using WildBlue via GotSky now for about six months. About the middle of November the dynamic addresses being assigned no longer resolve. This causes all sorts of problems and is highly irresponsible on the part of the system administrator. In my case it means that I can no loner send secure authenticated mail via my firms SMTP server as we use POP over SMTP to authenticate out going mail. Judging by some of the recent forum entries, I suggest somebody crack open a book on BIND and fix it.

IP Logged

USN - Retired
YaBB Moderator
★★★★★

Kentucky (USA)
Reply #1 - Dec 23rd, 2006 at 12:38pm  
No offense, but isn't this an issue more appropriately addressed to GotSky? Some of these outfits are just resellers, but I see GotSky publicly represents itself as an ISP. If this in fact is the whole truth, it suggests they have resources to address your concerns. I suspect however, they farm this sort of thing out to NRTC tech support

//greg//

USN (Ret)

IP Logged

Ex Member
Ex Member

Reply #2 - Dec 23rd, 2006 at 7:34pm  
Sorry Greg, but I have to disagree. It's a WildBlue issue. Here is why.

My current IP address is:72.173.59.240 (dynamic)

badger@kato:~$ nslookup -sil 72.173.59.240
Server:         12.213.224.61
Address:        12.213.224.61#53

** server can't find 240.59.173.72.in-addr.arpa: SERVFAIL

As you can see it does not resolve.

When I do a whois you can see who owns the adress.

OrgName:    Wildblue Communications, Inc.
OrgID:      WBC-39
Address:    5970 GREENWOOD PLAZA BLVD
City:       GREENWOOD VILLAGE
StateProv:  CO
PostalCode: 80111

NetRange:   72.173.0.0 - 72.173.255.255
CIDR:       72.173.0.0/16
NetName:    WB-DEN2
NetHandle:  NET-72-173-0-0-1
Parent:     NET-72-0-0-0-0
NetType:    Direct Allocation
NameServer: DNS01.WILDBLUE.NET