Welcome, Guest.        Forum rules.
      Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

No voltage AM22 Andrews 1.2m dish iDirect 3100

(Read 8970 times)
nathan46
★★

Jul 25th, 2007 at 6:27am  
I am a soldier in iraq trying to set up internet for my platoon. I have an idirect 3100 system coupled with an andrews 1.2m dish pointed at am22 and i cannot get any voltage 0.0

I have pointed the dish in every conceveable azmuth, angle and polar but still no voltage. the Lnb and buc are properly situated and the dish has a clear sky view

No matter what I should be getting some voltage through, right?  Suggestions please before my platoon kills me for wasting their money.

Thanks  B
« Last Edit: May 9th, 2008 at 6:29pm by Admin1 »  

IP Logged

Oasis Networks
★★★

Reply #1 - Jul 25th, 2007 at 8:36am  
do you get DC power at the end of your cable, just before the LNB? (you need to check it with a voltmeter).

www.oasisnetworks.net - Oasis Networks - Online with you!
IP Logged

nathan46
★★

Reply #2 - Jul 26th, 2007 at 6:10pm  
i tested the cable and i get AC voltage but no DC voltage. so what does that mean?

IP Logged

USN - Retired
YaBB Moderator
★★★★★

Kentucky (USA)
Reply #3 - Jul 26th, 2007 at 7:46pm  
I'm not iDirect trained, but typically - if you're truly seeing AC volts on the coaxial cable center conductor - that's bad.

Are you trying to use a inline satellite signal detector? Or are you relying on the modem for information? If a signal detector, they usually derive operating power from the modem via the RECEIVE cable center conductor. Outdoor end of the modem receive cable goes on one side of the meter, pigtail cable connects the other side with the LNB.