Welcome, Guest.        Forum rules.
      Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

Problem setting up HX system Iraq

(Read 3679 times)
Ex Member
Ex Member

Dec 21st, 2007 at 7:39am  
Please forgive me I am a novice at this, my system (Hughes HX with 1.2m Prodelin dish) came with almost no documentation and at a loss on setting up the system. Reading others posts I am now slightly confused. I am in the Baghdad area and have the following settings.
Azimuth: 230.4
Elevation: 34.4 or 26.4cm
Polarization: +42.7
On the Polarization  42.7 turning clockwise facing the dish is this  correct? Also what is the Pol adjustment angle with the +3.5 for my site seen in other posts? Do I add the 3.5 to 42.7 to get the final pol angle? 

Also can someone provide the parameters for the Manual commissioning page? I have seen other posts referring to the Freq and Symbol Rate being changed recently. This is what I have found on other posts.
New modem frequency has moved slightly to 11243    (x100kHz)  
Symbol rate is now 8000000
When I entered these parameters my signal got worse.
Also after I entered my Lat and Long parameters on this page and went to the receive antenna pointing page it gives me the following pointing values: Elev 51.3 AZ 177.1 Pol 0.7 Is this accurate?

Any help is appreciated.
Regards
Spc Block

« Last Edit: Dec 21st, 2007 at 8:44am by N/A »  

IP Logged

Eric Johnston
★★★

Reply #1 - Dec 21st, 2007 at 8:33am  
On the Polarization  45.5 turning clockwise facing the front of the dish is this  correct?

Wrong.   Set the polarisation using the large circular scale behind the dish.  Set to +46.2 for Baghdad and W3A satellite.   The scale is quite clear.  The entire dish needs rotating clockwise while facing TOWARDS the satellite.