Welcome, Guest.        Forum rules.
      Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

IS904 circular polarisation feed problem

(Read 29456 times)
maxfire2020
★★

Jan 26th, 2008 at 12:50pm  
I have iDirect 3100 new and 5watt BUC when I make the CW test with provider they cannot see the signal.
I have 2.4 dish
also their RHCP polarizer
also my TX and RX lights green and they can access to the modem but no transmit to the satellite.
My modem showing the BUC ok and working
whats that can be  I have damage BUC or my BUC installation not correct  I need help from expert.
« Last Edit: Feb 6th, 2008 at 10:38am by Eric Johnston »  

IP Logged

Admin1
YaBB Admin
★★★★★

Reply #1 - Jan 26th, 2008 at 1:52pm  
I have no experience with iDirect but suggest checking the following:

The two F connectors on the BUC cable must be good.  The centre pin must stick out 2mm beyond the rim of the plug.  When inserted, the pin must actually go in properly and not push back the cable.  The braid must also make good contact.   No fragments of braid wire etc must be left short-circuiting the cable.

The BUC DC power supply must be ON (possibly a software configuration option).

The 10 MHz reference to the BUC must be ON (possibly a software configuration option).  If the 10MHz is switched OFF, the BUC output will probably go to automatic inhibit.

Your modem transmit power level must be sufficient to make the BUC transmit at least a few mW.  It is normal to start with the power setting very low and go up in steps of say 3dB until the hub starts to see your CW carrier and then go up cautiously in 2 dB or 1 dB steps.   If you have an exceptionally long cross site cable you will need a few dB more power.  

Check the transmit frequency is correct.