Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

Set Polarization Prodelin 2.4m Circular Feed

(Read 8764 times)
Azee
★★

Mar 3rd, 2008 at 8:16pm  
Hi, I'm new to circular polarization.

I need help in adjusting the Polarization setting for Prodelin Circular Feed 2.4m Offset Antenna.

I'm using IS-906 West Hemi Beam (LHCP Uplink, RHCP Downlink) to link sites in Africa with Fuchsstadt Teleport.

Should I align the Polarization Mark on Cross Pol OMT with LHCP or RHCP Mark on the Circular Polarizer.

Some remarks in the Prodelin Feed Assembly manual that if the feed is LHCP the reflector will reverse it to RHCP and you will have a RHCP transmit system.

Is it because of the reference, e.g. if the wave is  Clockwise to me, it will be anti clockwise to someone viewing to opposite direction.

« Last Edit: Mar 5th, 2008 at 2:20pm by Admin1 »  

IP Logged

Eric Johnston
★★★

Reply #1 - Mar 3rd, 2008 at 10:25pm  
See here for an image of a feed configured for C band circular polarisation in Intelsat hemi beam.

Please provide feedback here in due course saying if the information is correct or not.

At least with circular polarisation it either works perfectly or not at all.  There is no adjustment required. Just make sure the LNB is 45 deg one way or the other from the polarising device/elements/pins/slots.  If you get it in line it turns back into a linear polarised system!

Related forum discussion and images of co-pol and cross-pol C band circular polarisation.

Best regards, Eric.
« Last Edit: Mar 5th, 2008 at 2:21pm by Admin1 »  

IP Logged

Azee
★★

Reply #2 - Mar 5th, 2008 at 6:13am  
The information provided is correct. I aligned the feed just as for  IS-904 Level 421 and it works i.e. LHCP transmit and RHCP receive. Thanks a lot for the information; those pictures were really helpful.

Can you explain the orientation of the signal's circular rotation (Left/ Right) with respect to Feed, Reflector, Satellite and then the reverse.

Thanks!

IP Logged