Advertisment: Broadband via satellite
Advertisment: Worldwide satellite services from Ground Control Company

www.satsig.net

Satellite Internet Forum.

Welcome, Guest.        Forum rules.
      Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

Tooway installation - can I do it myself ?

(Read 8188 times)
holdgaj
★★

Jun 11th, 2008 at 1:23pm  
I'm contemplating installing the Tooway system myself, to save a 300 Euro installation charge, but am a complete novice at this sort of thing... reading the blurb that came with the dish and modem, I see that the satellite needs to be aligned via compass & a marked scale on the dish, which seems straightforward. A signal strengh meter is required, which seems to be available locally for 15 Euro, however, the installation manual refers to the (very important) need to set polarity & I have no idea of how to do this, or indeed what it is (!) I read the post re Tooway installation in the UK, which hasn't put me off (!) but was puzzled by the 3.5 degree correction required.
I guess my main questions are: will a 15 Euro meter work for this sort of installation - how to set the polarity ? & this 3.5 degree thing ..
Any help appreciated ..

IP Logged

Eric Johnston
YaBB Moderator
★★★★★

Reply #1 - Jun 11th, 2008 at 6:46pm  
Yes, you can do the installation yourself.  It may take several days, possibly over 2-3 weeks.  

We don't know if the Hotbird 6 Ka band beams have thair polarisation aligned with the earth's equator and  axis.  Earlier Eutelsat satellites had their polarisation offset 3.5 deg clockwise.