Welcome, Guest.        Forum rules.
      Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

Checking BER on ip modem

(Read 7029 times)
patmos
★★

Dec 10th, 2008 at 1:02pm  
I would like to know how to check BER on an ip modem Comtech CDM 570. It is an IBS circuit on a 128KBPS link. We have packet losses and distorted phone calls/ delay.I would like to check the integrity of the link. In a normal set up i use a MARCONI DIGITAL COMMUNICATION ANALYSER 2851S to send PRBS. I checked for errors on a time period.
I am new to ip based modem. What tester or software should I use to do this.Any help is welcome.

IP Logged

USN - Retired
YaBB Moderator
★★★★★

Kentucky (USA)
Reply #1 - Dec 10th, 2008 at 1:22pm  
It may not be the modem at all. If the outdoor unit is not adjusted to the correct polarization angle, it can produce those symptoms at the digital level. An substandard IFL may produce them as well. You should optimize the antenna pointing angles and validate the cable path. One or both may vindicate the modem.

Given the significant latency inherent to GEO satellite links, 128k isn't a lot of throughput to support quality VoIP. Anything that reduces throughput - particularly on the uplink - will have a negative impact on voice over satellite. Pointing error and IFL faults are near the top of the list when it comes to slowing down uplink speeds. Low output power from the BUC (transmitter) ranks up there too.

//greg//

USN (Ret)

IP Logged

Eric Johnston
★★★

Reply #2 - Dec 10th, 2008 at 1:49pm  
The CDM-570 has an inbuilt facility to show BER and receive Eb/No. Navigate using the front panel screen to Monitor, then RX parameters. Check at both ends of the link.

During dish pointing aim to maximise Eb/No and minimise BER. For polarisation adjustment set this accurately by calculation, then get your teleport hub or far end to observe a cross pol CW transmit test while you adjust the polarisation under their verbal instruction.