Welcome, Guest.        Forum rules.
      Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

Satellite Services for 3500 users in Middle East

(Read 2468 times)
Zarabud
★★

May 14th, 2009 at 4:39pm  
Hello! I am new to the satellite market and would love to have some help from you here on the forum.
We were inquire whether we can provide internet via satellite to a large authority with 3500 users in the Middle East. I Thought first to purchase capacity from any Internet ISP but we are considering at the same time to become self-ISP and buy a services directly from a satellite company. What have suggestions about it. What I need for our own ISP, and from what Satellite is better to do business with.

Kind Regards
« Last Edit: May 14th, 2009 at 11:28pm by Zarabud »  

IP Logged

Eric Johnston
★★★

Reply #1 - May 14th, 2009 at 6:47pm  
If all 3500 users are in one place I would recommend trying hard to get a terrestrial optic fibre connection as this is likely to be the least costly.

If your users are scattered over a wide area however, satellite represents a solution for those difficult remote locations, away from a good terrestrial infrastructure.

Consider a VSAT satellite system for 1000 such remote users.  Capacity sizing (Mbit/s on the satellite) is based on the total number of end user PCs and their activity.  Assuming 'moderate' useage (i.e. not downloading videos all day or sending out virus emails non-stop !) each PC needs an allowance of about 12 kbit/s download speed and 3 kbit/s upload speed, so for a total of 1000 PCs, you will need something like 12 Mbit/s down and 3 Mbit/s up.

For this fully implemented system, the cost could be $105,000 per month.   Helpfully, the full satellite capacity does not need to be bought up front but could grow to match your customer growth.