Welcome, Guest.        Forum rules.
      Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

Super buddy first use

(Read 6077 times)
dutchtech
★★

Oct 22nd, 2010 at 11:33am  
Hi I'm a network tech working in Iraq. I have a Super Buddy on order which I'm anxiously awaiting, now this guy here on base was kind enough to donate a 1.2m dish with LNB and BUC to me (someone abandoned it apparently). The LNB is an NJR2184HH and the BUC a NJT5037F.

A similar LNB:

https://www.satsig.net/lnb/NJR2184-lnb-specification-data-sheet.pdf

Now my question is, how do I setup my superbuddy for this type of LNB? Do I maybe go to hughesnet in the menu or generic KU band?

Also I was wondering if it's possible to pick up TV with this kinda setup, so not using the BUC just hooking up the LNB to a digital receiver?...

Thanks in advance,

Dutch

IP Logged

Eric Johnston
★★★

Reply #1 - Oct 22nd, 2010 at 2:54pm  
The dish and LNB plus a satellite TV set top box will work, but with limitations:

.  You will only be able to receive satellite TV carriers in the range 10.95 - 11.7 GHz.
.  You will be able to receive either polarisation but you will need to visit the antenna to turn the feed system through 90 deg to chnage the polarisation.

Have a look in Lyngsat.com and maybe talk with others locally about what satellites have what TV programs of interest. Check that the beam covers Iraq.  Free-to-Air (FTA) programs don't need a paid-for conditional access card.

Once you have an objective: satellite name, satellite location, feasible carrier frequency and polarisation, then set up your dish.