Frequency hopping

(Read 13278 times)
xenogears
★★

Dec 14th, 2010 at 6:22pm  
Hi
I'm a newbie in this forum.
Ok, i have a question:
I'm a supervisor on a hub iDIRECT HD DVB-S2 in the south pacific. The technicians tell me that  frequency hopping allows the timeslot to jump from one carrier to another inside the same inroute.
But in their guide, iDIRECT certifies that frequency hopping let the hub load-balances across all inroutes.
I think technicians are wrong. What do you think of it?
And if I'm right, are there any particuliar specifications in the inrout group?

Please forgive my bad English

IP Logged

jawadg
★★

Reply #1 - Dec 15th, 2010 at 3:37pm  
"Frequency hopping" may be referring to a spread spectrum technique whereby the centre frequency of the carrier jumps about over a wide range.  This provides privacy and resistance to interference.

Furthermore, Frequency hopping refers to FDMA type of satellite access where you are given a frequency range. When your carrier pops out, it will find a vacant spectrum on the allocated range within the transponder.This simply means spectrum sharing.

In lastly, your technician study went wrong Smiley

Regards,

Jawad Malik
Email: jawadg@hotmail.com

IP Logged

xenogears
★★

Reply #2 - Dec 15th, 2010 at 7:17pm  
Thanks

IP Logged

Eric Johnston
★★★

Reply #3 - Dec 15th, 2010 at 8:58pm  
Might it be possible in iDirect systems for the inroute bursts to frequency hop from one inroute carrier slot to another, so as to spread the total inroute traffic load across all inroute TDMA burst receivers ?

Best regards, Eric.

( terminology in this posting adjusted to match iDirect documentation )
« Last Edit: Dec 17th, 2010 at 10:57am by Admin1 »  

IP Logged

xenogears
★★

Reply #4 - Dec 16th, 2010 at 11:50pm  
From iDIRECT:
"Frequency Hopping mode provides true run-time load balancing across all the inroutes
within an inroute group. In Frequency Hopping mode, remotes will dynamically load-balance