Welcome, Guest.        Forum rules.
      Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

First Strike FS1 Digital Satellite Meter

(Read 7660 times)
ksat
★★

Apr 23rd, 2011 at 6:11pm  
Hello.  I work in varying remote locations around Alaska, mainly around the Kenai Peninsula. We use iDirect for a remote Internet connection.

Currently we rely on dispatching a technician from Anchorage to point our dish at each new location.  This gets costly and we often times have to wait several days before we can get someone on location.

I am considering purchasing a First Strike FS1 Digital Satellite Meter to point the dish myself, but I am a bit of a novice when it comes to satellites.  Can anyone confirm that the FS1 meter will work for my purposes or provide any other recommendations/advice?

Thanks for any comments!

IP Logged

Eric Johnston
★★★

Reply #1 - Apr 23rd, 2011 at 7:45pm  
I suggest you set up a dish wherever you are now and get some practice finding the satellite and peaking up.  Note the pre-calculated elevation and polarisation and note down how these appear on the scales. Note the differences between the actual and calculated values. Maybe take photos so you can see how the scales were set. Note the approx azimuth direction relative to the pole star and the sun versus time of day.

Now when you go to some remote site take that same working terminal with you (antenna, radio modules, cables and modem). Calculate the new elevation and polarisation and apply those numbers with the differences added or subtracted.

Swing the dish boldly sideways to find the satellite, then peak up using your modem plus PC screen or a meter.