Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

Help Configuring my SAT meter on Badr-6 C-BAND

(Read 9923 times)
papayeya
★★★

Apr 3rd, 2013 at 11:49am  
Dear Members,

I am a newbie to VSATs,,, My ISP has giving me the below details for their transponder on BADR-6 however am not familiar with the given parameters. I have a digital Satellite Meter (SAT )

The given details are:

Satellite Name : Badr 6 - C-BAND
Freq: 4043.6310
Symbol Rate : 2483.076
FEC: 0.793 (My meter has only few options like 1/2, 3/4)
Polrization: Right

Note that the LNB LO is 5150

I have a satellite meter that accepts integer numbers not decimal. And also the FEC shouldn't be a ratio of two integer numbers like 1/2 or 3/4 ?

Please help me by informing me the correct parameters I should enter it to my Satellite meter in order to Lock to the wanted carrier.
« Last Edit: Apr 3rd, 2013 at 1:46pm by Admin1 »  
ICQ | YIM  
IP Logged

Admin1
YaBB Admin
★★★★★

Reply #1 - Apr 3rd, 2013 at 12:25pm  
Your satellite downlink frequency is 4043.6310 MHz
Your LNB local oscillator frequency is 5150 MHz.

The frequency of the carrier in the cable from the LNB is
5150 - 4043.6310 = 1106.369 MHz

Tune your meter, and your modem, to this L band frequency.

If your meter can only be programmed in 1 MHz steps set it to 1106 MHz.
LNBs come with different LO accuracies.  LNBs with DRO type oscillators have frequency errors up to +/-2 MHz. These are fine when receiving giant carriers that are 27 MHz wide.  PLL type LNBs have much better frequency accuracy and are suitable for receiving small carriers.