Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

iSCPC Link

(Read 3345 times)
Habib D
★★

Aug 29th, 2014 at 1:09pm  
dear,

I'm struggling to establish a SCPC connection with two infinity 5300. I have generated the options file for the two modem and applied them. From the VSAT operator prospective each tx carrier are seen, but i'm not able to lock the RX on both modem.
This is the first time i'm trying to establish scpc connection with iDirect 5300.
My need should be broad, i don't see which parameter to check.

modem_1.png (25 KB | 278 )
modem_1.png
modem_2.png (25 KB | 292 )
modem_2.png

IP Logged

Admin1
YaBB Admin
★★★★★

Reply #1 - Aug 29th, 2014 at 8:19pm  
I have no experience with iDirect options files.  Maybe someone with iDirect experience will identify some obvious problem.

Can you see your L band receive spectrum yourself on a spectrum analyser?  If so, verify the L band carrier frequencies and C/N ratios. Adjust your transmit levels under supervision from the network operations centre so that the C/Ns at your receive sites are both nominal. Make sure your carriers 'look right' with appropriate bandwidth, clean shape and with no interference humps, spikes or sidebands.  Turn them off and check the noise floor is clean underneath.  Record on paper for future reference.

If you have no analyser, ask the NOC to help you set the transmit levels correct for your size of dishes and location. It is likely that the modem tx powers will be different at each site. i.e. not both exactly -25 dBm at each site.

It may be that your levels are far too low to be received on small dishes at your locations, but fine for reception at the large teleport dish at the NOC.

Other possible problems could be:

.  that you are using co-pol rather than x-pol feeds, or vice versa. Almost all C band systems use x-pol feeds but a few satellites operate co-pol.