Welcome, Guest.        Forum rules.
      Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

Afghanistan W6 Satellite Setup

(Read 7662 times)
pollux
★★

Dec 9th, 2007 at 8:02pm  
I'll be in Jalalabad, Afghanistan soon and wanted to ask a few questions about setting up satellite service via the Eutelsat W6. For those who have setup the service, what are some items I should look for? What equipment would you recommend to aid in the aiming of the dish? I want to prepared to minimize any downtime for my company.

I'm new to the satellite arena and I barely have any knowledge regarding aiming. Could I use any analog aiming tool, such as those that operate 950Mhz - 2200Mhz? I don't want to fork-out $400 to BW for the Horizon Satellite tool and I know there has to be a cheaper alternative.

IP Logged

Eric Johnston
★★★

Reply #1 - Dec 9th, 2007 at 8:19pm  
Read here: instructions on how to find a satellite.

I recommend that you practice first elsewhere, where there is no urgency.

Afghanistan is to the upper left of the map shown here:
Satellite dish pointing in Pakistan  Jalalabad is marked and you can see all the streets, houses, gardens etc.   I have not yet made a page that starts in Afghanistan.

Best regards, Eric.

IP Logged

USN - Retired
YaBB Moderator
★★★★★

Kentucky (USA)
Reply #2 - Dec 9th, 2007 at 10:36pm  
Looks like there may be, but I don't actually know positively if there's Hughes-based internet access via W6. But if you do end up buying a Hughes-compatible rig, their proprietary OPI (outdoor pointing interface) is all the signal meter you should need. If the gateway to which you are assigned is ACP-capable, the OPI will also give a readout to optimize transmitter isolation. If you buy one before leaving the states, they're under a hundred bucks. Comes with a 22KHz blocking filter and connecting cable. Mine's an OPI-C, Hughes P/N 1031393-0003 Rev D.
See https://www.google.com/products?q=HughesNet+OPI&btnG=Search&show=dd

//greg//

USN (Ret)