Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

TV Distribution over 802.11 a/b/g/n, 802.16e

(Read 6241 times)
inquisative
★★

Nov 17th, 2008 at 11:42pm  
Hi gents,
I'm aware of MMDS TV Broadcasting and IPTV systems for distributing TV programs wirelessly.

However, does anybody know if it is possible to distribute TV programs over a wireless 802.11 xxxx network. I'm not talking about distributing locally as in a house, (this can be done), but commercially over the airwaves (2.4Ghz/5.8Ghz using 802.1x) akin to a commercial wireless broadband network setup?

Any Ideas

Thanks

IP Logged

USN - Retired
YaBB Moderator
★★★★★

Kentucky (USA)
Reply #1 - Nov 18th, 2008 at 12:50am  
I'm not a video engineer, but on the surface the difficulty would appear to be one of RF bandwidth. I understand an uncompressed digital broadcast channel to be about 6MHz. I also understand the 802.1xx RF bandwidth to be in the neighborhood of 10 to 12MHz. That alone suggests the number of uncompressed TV channels that could be handled by current 802.1xx hardware - would be severely limited.

Compression seems an obvious near-term solution to a video neophyte like myself. But I wouldn't know how to achieve that, without adding additional hardware on either side of the 802.1xx segment.

//greg//
« Last Edit: Nov 19th, 2008 at 12:01am by USN - Retired »  

USN (Ret)

IP Logged

Eric Johnston
★★★

Reply #2 - Nov 18th, 2008 at 1:11pm  
We have looked at the distribution of low bit rate IP-TV over wired and wireless LAN systems using IP-TV broadcast packet mode transmissions.  The idea is to send TV from the teleport to a number of VSAT sites (or receive only sites using DVB-S2 receivers) that would each then broadcast the data packets into their local LANs using a broadcast IP address.  The end user can use either a PC to see a PC screen version of the programme or use a tiny Amino set top box to convert ethernet to RGB/HDMI/S-Video type connection direct to large TV screen.