Pages: 1

Repointing on production Hub

(Read 3105 times)
feldy
★★

Jul 9th, 2009 at 4:43pm  
Dear All,

I am new in VSAT technology.

I have life IDirect Hub connected to the antenna which is pointing to our existing satt provider. Now, we are thinking to repoint it to other satt provider. We need to do repointing and meanwhile we want to keep the IDirect Hub on life condition.

Any body who can give the best way to do this ?

rgds,

Feldy

IP Logged

dave1234
★★

Reply #1 - Jul 24th, 2009 at 7:57pm  
Hello Feldy

I am presuming you are asking if it is possible to keep your I-Direct system up and running [ with no interruption to the remotes ] whilst moving from one satellite to another.

In short, unfortunately no.

The satellites that we “talk to” using our I-Direct systems are in a “ring or belt” around the earth.

https://www.splung.com/kinematics/images/satellites/geostationary.png

These satellites appear to be stationary as viewed from an observer on the ground. They actually move around a little bit, but I won’t get into that here. Your system has three main components:

1. Your Hub station [ The “Master Controller” ]

2. Your remote sites

3. The satellite itself.

Both your hub station and your remotes all need to be pointing to the same satellite at the same time. When you point your antennas to different satellites you will find that you have to move the position of the antennas with respect to the horizontal [ called azimuth ] and to the vertical [ called elevation ]. There is sometimes an adjustment for a thing called polarization, but we’ll ignore that for just now.

https://www.euclideanspace.com/physics/mechanics/tableTopPhysics/geospatial/aimS...