Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

Optimizing data rate on VSAT-link - Homework problems

(Read 7256 times)
jorel
★★

Mar 23rd, 2014 at 1:15pm  
Hello all,

New to the forum, I'm a student in Sweden and currently styding satellites and having a problem. Trying 10 hours per day for week to get this right but I'm failing.

I have a homework to optimize a Point to Point VSAT-link (a european to an other european city) the sat is at 36000 km height so roughly 240ms delay up/down. All parameters except these are exchangable qoute: "VSAT link between city 1 and city 2 Transponder bandwidth is limited to the same as a QPSK modem at 4096 kb/s needs." And measured BER is 5x10E-6.

Carrier frequencies and bandwith is not defined. I have struggled with dealing with Eb/N0 and BER, flow control and interleave, and pondered time to time about the locked parameters ie if I need to estimate frequencies a QPSK modem at 4096 kb/s uses. At the end I want to plot this in a graph to show differences. Also I guess I need to change modulation schemes to optimize link further.

I want to use Selective repeate ARQ, and change modulation to HQPSK in the end but perhaps starting with QPSK to see if it's possible to get better data rate.

I hope there are somebody feeling like pinting me in the right direction, this is a distance course and I seems to have gotten lost in all the books (William Stalling wireless book).

Kind regards.

IP Logged

Admin1
YaBB Admin
★★★★★

Reply #1 - Mar 23rd, 2014 at 4:21pm  
I think they want you to work out if you can get a higher information bit rate at the same BER using some permutation of modulation method and FEC rate.

Find graphs or formulas that relate BER and Eb/No for various modulation methods.

Uncoded QPSK at BER 5x10E-6 needs 9.8 dB Eb/No.   "Uncoded" means no FEC is in use, which is very rare.

NB: Your starting transmission rate is 4096kbit/s.  Your starting information rate is 4096kbit/s.