Welcome, Guest.        Forum rules.
      Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

Newbie seeking expert/experienced advice on Sat

(Read 2785 times)
Ex Member
Ex Member

Jun 3rd, 2006 at 5:25pm  
Looking for advice from the experts and experienced.

My situation:
I'm a freelance writer for the high-tech industry. Currently living in a fixed home with cable Internet @ 3Mbps (I'm spoiled). I live by the Internet, frequently downloading multi-megabyte files and uploading multi-100kbyte files. I rely on e-mail, web, ftp, and recreational surfing, sometimes streaming from training sites. I'm not a gamer. I used VoIP with my cable service and loved it, but cancelled it because of my plans, which are:

I'm planning on working on the road in a large 5th wheel. I have Verizonwireless cell-based data service as Internet access for locations where service is available, but considering satellinte as a backup for non-service locations.

Concerns:

One of my concerns is with FAP punishment. I need bandwidth when I need it, and can't afford to be dialed down. Is this a valid concern with satellite and my bandwidth requirements as described above?

I'm tech saavy, engineering background (although not RF), can even fabricate metal for moutning, etc., so I can deal with some installation & technical issues, but tech support is a must for emergencies. Is tech support an issue with the service providers? Are they timely, friendly, and helpful?

Which provider has high ratings (from the experienced and experts viewpoint) for uptime, continuous throughput, signal/data quality? Starband? Direcway? An Independent installer/provider?

Is VoIP an option with Satellite? Is it reliable? Is the latency a big headache and annoying? Does satellite support voice over IM very well?