Welcome, Guest.        Forum rules.
      Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

Bonaire, Netherland Antilles

(Read 7869 times)
Ex Member
Ex Member

Jun 3rd, 2006 at 10:37pm  
I am relocating from the U.S. to Bonaire next month.

I am a computer consultant and will need high-speed internet access.  Primarily for VPN/terminal server/citrix, but also for uploading/downloading large files. All of the above from U.S. sites.

I have come to the conclusion that the local telco and cable companies on the island will not be able to provide the quality of service that I would prefer and am just now beginning to research the satellite internet option.

This will be used for my home office network (up to about 6 computers behind my wireless router)

I would prefer to be able to use VOIP services if possible.

I would prefer no less than 512Kbps down/256Kbps up.

I have sent out an email requesting information from the companies listed on the satsig.net website as providing service to Bonaire, but would like to get any suggestions from those of you out there with any experience/ideas.

IP Logged

Ex Member
Ex Member

Reply #1 - Jun 6th, 2006 at 1:33am  
Interesting..

I live on Bonaire and have the local FlamingoTV cable connection.

The link varies a lot. I get anywhere from 30kB/s to 300kB/s rates down. 15kB/s up. So it's not so bad. Skype works great.

What did you find out about the sat links? I'm looking for a solution to get internet in remote places on the island.

IP Logged

Ex Member
Ex Member

Reply #2 - Jun 6th, 2006 at 2:22am  
Greetings my soon to be neighbor.

I've had a few emails from providers, but still compiling options.

I've been discussing my internet options research with a local Bonaire tech and he had this to say about satellite internet options in Bonaire.