Advertisment: Broadband via satellite
Advertisment: Worldwide satellite services from Ground Control Company

www.satsig.net

Satellite Internet Forum.

Welcome, Guest.        Forum rules.
      Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

Pre-installation Checklist? List of birds?

(Read 4783 times)
Ex Member
Ex Member

Oct 14th, 2006 at 8:35am  
Hi all, and especially Eric Johnson and the captain USN retired,

I am thinking of setting up a dish for internet access in our moutain home in southern Greece (elevation 1000m, near a 2300 m ski center called Mt. Xelmo).

I had no idea this topic was so complicated (but as an engineer I kind of like it, like learning a new hobby).

Questions:  I will go through all of these forum questions eventually, but if there's a pre-installation checklist, to see what you need to determine to see if a dish is feasible, please let me know.  Rest assured I intend to get a professional to install the dish, even though I'm familiar with PCs and home construction, as I'm not a believer of reinventing the wheel.

Some questions:

1.  Apparently alignment of the parabolic dish is a big issue (makes sense, since parabolas only concentrate parallel rays to a point, and parallel implies you have to be aiming spot on to get a signal).  Is there a cheap way of detecting where the sat. bird is, prior to installation of a dish?  In other words--before I buy $6k worth of hardware, since our home backs into a mountain facing west, but has a unobstructed sky view of east and south east (though due south is a bit obstructed at one location, I want to see if I can spot the Greek-broadcasting satellite(s) (which apparently is either SE or S) by climbing on our roof before I start buying hardware.