Welcome, Guest.        Forum rules.
      Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

recommended kit for camping tv

(Read 4022 times)
Ex Member
Ex Member

May 1st, 2007 at 2:50am  
I purchased a kit for receiving Dishnet Satellite TV and am awaiting its arrival. (receiver, dish, LNB, and pre-paid card)

I intend to take it with my RV for road trips.  Therefore I will be aiming a dish each time I set up camp and want to watch TV.

I am a retired engineer and feel proficient in the basic aiming issues---compass, angles, skew, etc. (Though I might have a rude awakening.)

I am looking at ads describing the Align-a-Site which is a protractor/buble level affair to set approximate azimuth and elevation.  I physically mounts on the dish.  Has anybody used this and found it worthwhile?

Is it worthwhile to get a "satellite finder" with meter and whistle to tweek the aim of the dish---something under $100---down to as cheap as $15.  I understand the problem of not being able to identify the satellite with something in this price range.  Any recommendations here?

(And hi to you, USN-RET.  I was a civil service electrical engineer for the Navy for 38 years.)

IP Logged

Eric Johnston
★★★

Reply #1 - May 1st, 2007 at 9:07am  
If your dish mount has an elevation scale on the back bracket I would use that to set the dish elevation.    For polarisation there may be a scale on the feed throat at the LNB clamp or possibly behind the dish if the entire dish is designed to be rotated for polarisation (skew) adjustment.   For azimuth, a compass will be useful on cloudy days.