Home            Login            Register          
Pages: 1

iDirect 3000 Modem Installation

(Read 8648 times)
francyb
★★

Zambia
Jan 21st, 2009 at 1:03pm  
I am new to VSAT technologies. I am trying to get a lock on to W3A satellite. I have the following with me:

iDirect 3000 modem
1.2m Prodelin antenna
NJR2784HH LNB
2wat BUC

I have setup the equipment and ready to go.

Using iSite 7.1.1 am only getting between 2.1 and 3.000 volts when i do the pointing.
There is no obtruction on the installation site except for a bit of rain and cloudy.

Below is my location:
Latitude = -15.4186, Longitude = 28.2731
Lat    = 15 degrees,   25.1 minutes   South
Long = 28 degrees,   16.4 minutes   East

Your suggestions are more than welcome.

Francis

YIM  
IP Logged

Eric Johnston
YaBB Moderator
★★★★★

Reply #1 - Jan 21st, 2009 at 1:11pm  
What nominal polarisation (horizontal or vertical) has your hub told you to set for receiving ?

Has your modem been preconfigured or are you expected to configure it yourself using an options file ?

Best regards, Eric.

IP Logged

francyb
★★

Zambia
Reply #2 - Jan 21st, 2009 at 1:47pm  
Hi Eric,

Thanks for the quick response.
The polarisation is vertical for receive and horizontal for transmission.
I am expected to configure the modem with the option file that they sent.
I am doing a test before i go on site.
Best regards,

Francis

YIM  
IP Logged

Eric Johnston
YaBB Moderator
★★★★★

Reply #3 - Jan 21st, 2009 at 3:30pm  
This page will tell you the pointing angles: Dish pointing southern Africa, for example:

Polarisation:
Step 1: Start with the LNB sticking out sideways for true vertical polarisation.  The broad faces of the LNB rectangular waveguide, which define the polarisation,  will be on top and underneath.
Step 2: While facing towards the satellite, turn the feed/LNB/BUC assembly -53 deg anticlockwise.

Best regards, Eric.

IP Logged

francyb
★★

Zambia
Reply #4 - Feb 4th, 2009 at 9:40pm  
Hi Eric,